To make an appointment, call us Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 16:30 pm on 012 346 4202 or 083 822 6601.

Pieter du Plessis

MBChB, MMed (Derm), FCDerm (SA)

Dr Pieter du Plessis is a dermatologist who performs Mohs Micrographic Surgery for appropriate skin cancers, practising in Pretoria, South Africa. He qualified firstly as a medical doctor and then as a dermatologist at the University of Pretoria, South Africa. As a senior registrar he spent time in the dermatologic surgery unit in Newcastle-upon-Tyne in the United Kingdom, where he trained in dermatologic surgery and formalin fixed Mohs Surgery.

After a year as consultant in the academic department of dermatology he entered private practice in Pretoria with a focus on procedural dermatology, including every week a halfday theatre list to perform mostly tumour surgery and reconstructions, often with a pathologist performing vertical frozen section margin control, a full day procedure list in the rooms, a half day performing laser therapy, and a day performing botulinum and filler injections.

After more than a decade in practice, he travelled in 2013 to Cincinnati in the United States, where he completed an ASDS ITMP Mohs Observational Fellowship with dr Brett Coldiron, a Mohs Surgeon and Past President of the American College of Mohs Surgery as well as of the American Academy of Dermatology.

Upon his return to South Africa he established the Skinmatters Mohs Micrographic Surgery and Reconstruction unit in Pretoria, from where he performs Mohs surgery on approximately 1000 cases per year.

The unit offers a yearlong ASDS ITMP Recognized Mohs Fellowship, and currently consists of two Dermatologists performing Mohs Micrographic Surgery, four plastic and reconstructive surgeons, a fully equipped Mohs laboratory with three full-time histotechnologists, and with backup provided as required by anatomical pathology, a Head and Neck Unit, oculoplastic surgery, radiotherapy and oncology.

Dr du Plessis is Chairman of the South African Society for Mohs Surgery, past President of the South African Society of Dermatologic Surgery, serves on the exco of the Dermatologic Society of South Africa, and is a recipient of the American Society of Dermatologic Surgery ITMP Outstanding Contribution Award.